Yamaha CR (relay problem?)

tightplatoni

Hi I'm new here wondering if you could help

I have a Yamaha CR-420, and it works fine except all of a sudden the relay clicking sound that comes on when you turn it on, keeps clicking non-stop. It still plays just fine on any setting, but you can hear it clicking (mechanically not through the speakers).

I've tried unplugging it and the problem may go away for a short while..but normally within 10 minutes it will start clicking again non stop, and then if I turn it off and on right away it will keep clicking no matter what.

Can anyone help me as to how to fix it or know what caused it?

I am no expert but it would seem that if the relay were doing the clicking then the sound would follow the clicking on and off so it would seem to me to be something else
Have you had the cover off?
It would seem that with it open the source of the noise would be obvious

Hi I'm new here wondering if you could help

I have a Yamaha CR-420, and it works fine except all of a sudden the relay clicking sound that comes on when you turn it on, keeps clicking non-stop. It still plays just fine on any setting, but you can hear it clicking (mechanically not through the speakers).

I've tried unplugging it and the problem may go away for a short while..but normally within 10 minutes it will start clicking again non stop, and then if I turn it off and on right away it will keep clicking no matter what.

Can anyone help me as to how to fix it or know what caused it?

When the relay "clicks" does the sound(music) also shut off in sequence with the relay clicking?

http://sportsbil.com/yamaha/cr-420-s.pdf

Last edited:
If the music is uninterupted------

Look at the foil side of the circuit board under the relay.See if someone has by-passed the relay contacts on the relay..

Yes the music is un-interrupted by the relay clicking - it sounds exactly like the relay when the amp first turns on so I'm sure that is it.