unstable DC offset on 771

bourdagespl

Hello everybody,

I'm new to vintage audio and I found this forum being very usefull!

I would appreciate some help on setting DC offset on my 771.

I found that my right channel has some distortion, so by reading on this forum, I tried to check and adjust the DC offset. The left was approx between 2 mV and 12 Mv. The right was approx between 50mV and 60mV. I say approx because the read my multimeter is giving to me is very unstable. I succesfully adjusted the right approx 2 - 12 mV, but I can't get a stable read.

I have a cheap mastercraft numeric multimeter and I didn't touch the bias current adjustement yet.

Can someone tell me why I can't have a stable DC offset?

Thank you for your help!

I'm working on my 771 with the left channel offset drifting.
I swapped the adjustment pots left and right and checked for bad solder points.
Then I swapped transistors one by one with the opposite channel.
The third transistor change moved the offset problem to the right channel.
On the driver board, F 1499, in my case Tr1/Tr2 is the problem.

Before the unit shut down there was some crackle on power on. When it finally became unusable there were loud crackle sounds from the left channel.

Note: none of the components were hot to the touch nor was the problem changed by applying heat to the components.

Up to this point my 661 and 881 have not caught the 771's virus. LOL

Thank you for your answer.

I'm not sure what you mean by "drifting", but mine stay at the same unstable value (24 hours later). By unstable, I not mean that the offset changed even if untouched, I mean that the reading on my multimeter is not stable.

Sorry for the misunderstood and the poor english.

Thank you for your answer.

I'm not sure what you mean by "drifting", but mine stay at the same unstable value (24 hours later). By unstable, I not mean that the offset changed even if untouched, I mean that the reading on my multimeter is not stable.