Technics ST-S3 tuner problem

tmho

I bought this tuner together with my first stereo system more than 30 years ago. It is still working but with a few problems. The memory (both AM and FM) is not working (Memory cannot be set). A few years ago, 2 of the 7 memories could still be set. Now all of them cannot be set. Also, for FM, no stereo reception, just mono (to be more exact, the stereo light won't turn on). Although it is an old tuner, it is quite a good memory to me. I do hope that someone can give me some suggestions on how to fix the problems. I have opened it but could not see any damaged components. I have some basic electronics knowledge and soldering skill.

None of the usual suspects have a free service manual for this one, though they seem to be common enough on eBay and with independent manual sellers. Do you have a schematic for it?

According to this little blurb the memory presets are protected by batteries, have you replaced the batteries?

attachment.php

Attachments

• ST33-Capture.JPG
    ST33-Capture.JPG
    48.8 KB · Views: 80
The symptoms are not consistent with a bad memory backup battery. In that case you would be able to set the presets but you would lose all of them when you turn the power off. Being able to set a few of them but not all sounds like bad preset switches if you are lucky, or a bad microprocessor if you are not. The backup battery may be bad also but you should at least be able to set the presets and call them up while the power is on. You have to see if you can fix that first before bothering with the backup battery.
Regarding the stereo lamp, listen and see if you are receiving stereo and maybe the lamp is just burned out. Switch from stereo to mono and see if you hear a difference. If not, the MPX PLL adjustment needs to be made. If you can find the service manual it will tell you which trim pot adjusts the PLL. You can just tune to a known good station and adjust it to the center of the region where the stereo comes on.