CLEANING VINYL - The AK compendium of fact, fiction and collective wisdom

Have you ever used glue to clean a record?

• Yes

Votes: 231 19.9%
  • No

Votes: 927 80.1%

• Total voters

onwardjames

Hoardimus Maximus
Subscriber
I have been gathering old beat-up records for 10 years now, and thanks to this wonderful place, have been quite successful in resurrecting many of my mom and dad's old records, some forgotten gems in thrift shops, etc.

Since AK has become THE place for all questions audio, I thought this thread could be a gathering of the assorted and still relevant threads about cleaning records.

First, I'm encouraging everyone who reads this to contribute your experience. We have all walks of life here, and I think it will be a great resource to compartmentalize this amazing knowledge. Yeah, I'd like this to be a sticky if it takes off.

Please keep the discussion moving ahead, and civil.

I'm going to link the two threads I find to be some of the greatest sources of knowledge on cleaning records and filthy vinyl.

This legendary thread pretty much ended my love/hate affair with records. Now I fear no vinyl! It's the wood glue thread.

http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=99837

This promising thread is from our resident expert on chemicals, Vince1.
Enzymes, not just for your gut any more!

http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?p=8395516

also, any DIY type stuff is great. Please link any threads I miss.

Here's one I'm still sorta on the fence about. The results are great, but I fear the long-term issues. Scrubbing Bubbles as a cleaning method?

http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=349539

Again, please comment, add what you've learned, and let us build this thread into a provable resource to save the vinyl. :thmbsp: