Pioneer SA-7500 II

robyrony

Hello AK members,
This is my first thread, so if I'm doing something wrong please let me know.
I'm pretty new to this vintage stuff, but I already like it a lot.
A few months ago I bought my first vintage amplifier: Pioneer SA-7500 II. After I bought it I found that this isn't one of the best sounding amplifier from Pioneer, but I have to live with it for now.
The amplifier had one burned output (I knew that before I bought it), and since I wanted to recap it anyway I figured it wouldn't be a major problem- just have to buy the transistors as well
I've read a lot of threads on recaping old amplifiers and I felt confident I can do the job myself.
I'm not an expert on fixing stuff (I'm an accountant), but I learned how to mount a transistor and a diode.
I used Panasonic FC and Nichicon PW for the caps, and for the transistors On Semiconductor and Fairchild.
After the rebuild I tested the bias and now things turned out to be more difficult- it measured 2 mV.
So I cut the jumper and the idle current incresed to 3 mV.
The manual says it should be between 10-70 mV
The unit sonds OK, well almoust OK; the sound is there but something is missing. The bass is a little short, like not full enough.
Since there are no pots to adjust, I don't know what to do next.
If someone has this unit and encountered the same problem and would like to share the answer, I would be verry gratefull.
*Also, english is my second language, so please forgive me if I misspelled something.

If you have it hooked up to speakers make sure that they are wired "in phase", in other words the red connector from the amp to the red or + terminal on the speakers and the black terminal on the amp to the black or - terminal on the speakers. If one of these gets hooked up backwards you will have weird sound with very little bass and a big "hole" in the frequency response.

I found the problem.
Turned out that I have a crappy meter, who can't test bias diodes correctly.