Restoring a Pioneer PL-630 Turntable

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Rich,
I am new to this whole scene of hobby repair work on audio equipment but I am very intrigued by rebuilding a table I was gifted. I turned the table on for a few months and it was running beautifully. Then the speed issue started. In the year that the table sat with me researching how to repair it, the button for the tone arm lift began to stick. When i turn the table on the mechanism for lifing the tone arm will move if I happen to hit the button and make contact but the tone arm will not setltle onto the actual record as it did before. I have read over your thread, and began trying to diagnose the problem. I have the table apart on my work bench and was wondering if their was any insight you could give me into what those problems may be. Also, i detached the circuit board from the switch for the button, but cant figure out how to access the two small columns to observe the mechanism (maybe springs) that would allow the tonearm button to rise.

Thanks,
John

Hi Rich,