Sony TC-255 suddenly playing slower?

phonophan79

Greetings -

I am new to R2R but I am getting into it and would love to learn more.

My first unit is a Sony TC-255 I picked up locally. I realize this is a bottom of the line unit... but, hear me out.

It's super clean inside and out. (I think? Picture attached.) It was playing and working well... for about a week.

I was listening to a reel when I physically heard the speed slow down. Now it seems to be constantly playing at this slightly slower (but obviously wrong) speed.

I thought OK - maybe need to change the belts. ...but after a belt replacement, still playing at the same incorrect, slower speed.

Any thoughts? It's a great little machine... i'd love to get it working properly again. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_1060.jpg
    IMG_1060.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 45
Problem solved.

Original Motor Capacitor had broken / leaked... and replaced. Playing back to normal speed now.

Attachments

• IMG_1063.JPG
    IMG_1063.JPG
    51.9 KB · Views: 54
  • IMG_1064.JPG
    IMG_1064.JPG
    25.4 KB · Views: 53
Nice work! That's a very common problem in all Sony single motor machines, you found the right solution. :thumbsup:

Looks like a nice clean example of a TC-255 you've got there.

And when your house AC doesn't work you'll know the problem.

Seriously, a few years ago I get a call from Ma, AC not working. I get there, oh shit this looks like a condensing unit and the damn thing is Freon 22 which means a special order and finding someone with a CFC card to even get it. so I calls my buddy with the CFC card and he say "what about the capacitor". Sure as heel that was it.

Why mention this ? Well with the new capacitor, her electric bill went down ! I asked engineers and YES, that cap getting weak will make the motor less efficient, then it just gets to the point where it won't run at all.