How to connect 2 Pioneer SA-8500 II

pioneerhip

Hey Hey!

So be gentle. Im a newbie... I recently decided to make the move into some quality equipment. I inherited 1 SA-8500 II and a Pioneer PL-520 turntable. I had it paired with some cheapo JVC tower speakers. I started reading about how great the Polk Monitor speakers were. So I purchased a set of Polk Monitor 10A and some of the Polk Monitor 5A. Hooked them up to the system and basically just melted into my couch in my music room. I was blown away! Here lies the problem. They are 6 ohm speakers, and I'm afraid that having them both connected to the amp may have fried it. Due to its age I am ready to do a complete overhaul on it anyway. I also just purchased a SA-8500 II on that auction site and it should be here thursday. My master plan is to use one amp for each set of speakers. So I need both amps.

My question is this: (finally right) how do i connect the amps so there is a master volume. I do not want to have to adjust each amplifier. Thanks for all the help!

The aux, tuner and tape inputs / outputs (tape) have a sensitivity of 150 mV, the preamp out and amplifier in have a sensitivity of 1 volt.
The power amplifier input impedance is 50k ohms, while the preamplifier output drive capability is 2k ohms.

All that gobbletygook means is that the preamp output is matched to and can drive two sa-8500ii amplifiers, so remove the shorting bars
from between the PRE OUT and POWER AMP IN and connect a pair (one for left channel, one for right channel) of "Y" wye adapters to
the pre out and connect interconnect cables to both power amp in inputs.

It would be a VERY good idea to refurb the power sections including renewing the thermal transfer grease used on the output transistors.
They can drive up to 75 watts into a 4 ohm load. But the outputs WILL get HOT, thus the preventative maintenance.