NO LOVE- speaker forum Yamaha speakers

I have posted twice on the speaker forum questions about Yamaha speakers with no response. Guess there is no love for the Yamaha speakers there. I have a Yamaha AS-500 amp and TS-500 tuner with a Yamaha CD player in the bedroom and would like to round the system out with some YAMAHA speakers. The Yamaha NS-333's and the NS- 6490's interest me as I need fairly small 2 or 3 way speakers as the system sits atop my dresser. Any suggestions on these speakers? Thanks

Thomas, personally I think your amp (which is a very nice amp) deserves a speaker of a higher caliber attached to it than either the NS333 or NS6490 (IMO). Do you have a dollar amount you want to limit your spend too? I am in Australia so my pricing will be different to yours but your amp retails here for over $700 and the speakers were around the $350 mark. I am no proponent of vintage over new or vice versa but if you have limited budget have a look at either NS344 or NS200m if you are keen to keep that Yamaha theme/sound - dollar for dollar (IMO) you will get a better sounding speaker - however, they might still be to big for your needs - alternatively keep klipsch's and buy a that turntable.

Might have the new Technics direct drive motor though..........:eek:

The motor and the motor control electronics in the GT 2000 I highly suspect to be sourced from Matsushita(specifically via JVC). Matsushita being the parent corporation that owned both Technics and JVC at the time of the development of the GT 2000. So as far as I'm concerned, if they do their job today as well as they did it back then, I'd be fine with that. The key word being If.