Sansui BA 3000 amp and CA 3000 preamp question?

Stevep914

HI everyone, I am a newbie to this forum- don't know why it took me so long... When I moved to Mexico 24 years ago, I made one trip with a motorhome just to transport my audio equipment - too many pieces to list. The guts of the system are two Sansui BA 3000 amps run mono through a CA 3000 preamp, all into two Cerwin Vega D 9's rated at 4 ohms each. This all ran ok with wonderful sound for several years in Canada. After several years in Mazatlan, Mexico ( yes, on the ocean, and we have salt air) one amp gave up, and I continued to run the other amp stereo through the preamp. Still sounded good, but definitely lost some punch. Then the other amp lost a channel. Everything went into storage bags, and I was forced to add an Onkyo receiver to power things ( the best thing I could find new down here) Definitely does not do the speakers justice. I am now going to deliver the three units to a reputable repair guy in Tucson for refurbishment. The question I have is: I just looked at everthing inside, and don't see evidence of major corrosion or deterioration; but did notice a sticker on the back of the amps indicating mono(340 watts) into a minimum 8 ohms. DId I damage these by powering the 4 ohm Vegas, or are they stout enough to handle the lower ohms? Other than repair, would I be better to get a reconditioned big power Adcom or like amplifier that is designed for lower ohms? Thanks in advance, Steve

I'm not the expert here but I'd guess unless you were making your neighbor's ears bleed, I highly doubt you killed them. You are talking 35 some odd years. How many things do you have that went 35 years without an issue?

Those units have a design issue with the boards.

They used vias, also called pass throughs. There are board traces that go from one side of the board to the other by a hole with a rivit type collar. The solder breaks loose on the collar.

Not all the amps used them. I think all the preamps did.