500T found

ehennebury

So... I've had a 500T come into my possession some time ago, and never really got around to doing anything with it. Today I was cleaning out the garage, and there it was. I decided to hook up a set of speakers and see if it was working. I found that the one of the channels was pretty much out. You can still hear it, but it's very soft.

That's when I hit the web and found this forum. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this kind of thing, but i instantly became very interested. I have pretty good mechanical aptitude, and basic soldering skills.

My question is this... am I way to noob to attempt repairing/recapping this unit with the help of this forum? What is the tolerance for really basic lines of questioning (potentially REALLY basic)? I'm excited by reading the rebuild post from user jdsalinger, but I'd likely need a lot of help. Thoughts?

You hit the right place!! Folk here are pretty laid back as well as knowledgeable of Mr. Fisher's stuff. If you ain't afraid of getting your hands a little dirty, you'll be in for a nice ride. The only caveat is that you DO NOT run ahead of those trying to help. Impatience is what usually runs people into trouble. A slow slog will get you to exactly where you want to be. Also, no question is too basic and, as the saying goes, the worst question is the one that isn't asked.

No pressure, but $25 bucks will get you access to Digital Docs where you'll be able to get a copy of both the Service and Operating Manual for your unit. These documents are probably available elsewhere gratis but I'd like to think that for the coin asked, you're still getting a super bargain + !!

Welcome aboard and good luck!!!

PS: It's a good idea to edit your profile to include your location. You never know: a member might be right next door!!!!