CLEANING VINYL - The AK compendium of fact, fiction and collective wisdom

Have you ever used glue to clean a record?

• Yes

Votes: 231 19.9%
  • No

Votes: 927 80.1%

• Total voters
For those mixing their own cleaning fluids, distilled water is probably the purest available. You can buy a gallon at any Rite Aid or CVS.

I'm having a great time with Vince's triton recommendations, a paint pad, and my econo-wand cleaning setup. Haven't "glued" in some time, tho I still reserve it for those evil records.

I've been using the Spin Clean for a few years now, but not totally happy with the results and the elbow grease needed.

HOWEVER...

I just purchased the Record Doctor V and use it in conjunction with the spin clean. Results are much improved and with less time and work needed.

1 - clean with Spin Clean using their formula
2 - dry it with the Record Doctor V while wiping the edge of the record with a microfiber cloth since the vacuum doesn't reach that part
3 - put it in a new sleeve

Like I mentioned, the results are MUCH better, the Record Doctor V was definitely worth the investment!

What about sticks and jumps? Proper cartridge alignment can help, but sometimes there's gunk in the wax. I used a toothpick last night to free up an early UK LP pressing of DSotM. No more skip.

But I've still got a big jump in my monaural UK DECCA LP of Beggars Banquet. What works for you folks?

KeninDC, Vince doesn't like the acidity of titebond 2, but it has been essential for the battered vinyl I buy. I completely saved an early Rolling Stones album my buddy had (Brian Jones on the cover looks blasted, forget the name) by using the glue method.

Other than that, might see if someone nearby has an ultrasonic tank, or perhaps soak overnight in a SpinClean??

1 - clean with Spin Clean using their formula
2 - dry it with the Record Doctor V while wiping the edge of the record with a microfiber cloth since the vacuum doesn't reach that part
3 - put it in a new sleeve