Recent content by audiodogster

1. audiodogster

New purchase- 1965 Grundig Schönbrunn console with Dual 1009 and NF-20 amp

Yes! It seems there were two versions of the TM 245, the TM 245 Automatic which was tube, then the later TM 245 Deluxe which was solid state.
  2. audiodogster

It's weird, the only real corrosion I see on the this is on those fuses as well as similar style fuses on the reel-to-reel.
  3. audiodogster

This is one area of repair I have very little experience in. Each pair of wires off of the transformer seems to have continuity, but I'm not sure if that's the proper test.
  4. audiodogster

Great advice! I've worked on a few tube amps so I know the drill but it's worth repeating.
  5. audiodogster

I think I found my problem on the amp. The bottom fuse is blown and looks like every single electrolytic cap has failing seals, this one being the worse. I guess I need to order the parts for it.
  6. audiodogster

Just picked up this console, it's really about the nicest console I've ever seen in terms of build quality, minus one detail that I find to be pretty hilarious. The cost of this was similar to a small car back in the day so naming it after the Schönbrunn palace in Vienna seems fitting. It's got...
  7. audiodogster

Vacuum Tube CD player

I have a Carver SD/A 490t and there's definitely a difference with the tubes on versus not. I don't know if it's a particularly great player but sounds better than other CD players I've used. The sound is definitely pleasant, I had it passing directly from the Carver to a Amber Series 70 amp to...
  8. audiodogster

Just picked up a KA-907

Not bad for $12. Only enthusiasts would know these aren't the correct handles and only cabinet pulls.
  9. audiodogster

Made the Klipschorn upgrade but feel I don't have worthy equipment