Recent content by bigbargain

1. B

Rek-O-Kut Rondine Jr. L-34 turntable with Empire 98 tonearm need a Plinth

Thanks for that advert. I studied it a bit more and noticed all except the rondine delux used the same motor, with the “custom built hysteresis synchronous motor” in only the rondine deluxe, which gets the better s/n. All the others indicate a “ new design hysteresis synchronous motor” and when...
  2. B

Rek-O-Kut Rondine Jr. L-34 turntable with Empire 98 tonearm need a Plinth

I’ve never had that experience with any of my 3 ROK K33’s, but they’re the belt driven ones. As you might guess, I’m biased away from idlers because of the rumble.
  3. B

Any interest in a Chicago area club?

I wasn’t able to join. Did this meet-up happen?
  4. B

45 push pullamps!

I know, old post. But Gary Dodd got me interested when i bought one of a few headphone amps he made. Yesterday. Posthumously of course. Listening to it now. Starting to really like it.
  5. B

Well… Milwaukee is just another suburb of Chicago.
  6. B

Hadn’t thought about this group for a while! I’d be interested. I live in wheaton.
  7. B

The Radio Shack SA-155 Mini Amp

Got one last nite. $20. Was just looking for something in my electronics shop for background music and testing speakers. (And I’ve used the rat-shack phono pre’s and liked them) Despite things said here, i did not have high expectations. But i was quite pleasantly surprised! I can see why...
  8. B

Bought custom speakers... JBL D123 + Peerless

old thread and not certain if anyone is watching it. I am working on a fill speaker for my Khorns. Actually, Khorn bass bins + JBL 2360 horns with either EV or JBL 2" driver. Sound is amazing with tubes, but like eveyrone, i thirst for improved 300<->6/700 hz. The bass bins don't quite make...
  9. B

Allen Organ Speakers HC 15 BIG THANKS

And those are Eminence woofers. The OP said it, and i can confirm. No CTS there.
  10. B

Allen Organ Speakers HC 15 BIG THANKS