Recent content by chris_f

1. chris_f

Shure M95ED

If I find something I think might be worth picking up I will grab it and walk around the store while I google it lol. Missed out to many times.
  2. chris_f

Shure M95ED

Yep, thats a big ole snatch that sucker up and put a Jico stylus on it.
  3. chris_f

Dual turntable oil, grease, and other lube.

There are plenty of options, but you are going to spend what the cost of a quart of oil costs. https://www.amazon.com/Boca-Bearings-Lightning-Lube-Power/dp/B00E3F5CL0/ref=sr_1_7?crid=38UKQXBCNHE8V&dchild=1&keywords=boca+bearing+oil&qid=1635818112&sprefix=boca+bearing+oil%2Caps%2C108&sr=8-7...
  4. chris_f

AR XA Turntable Restoration #258023

If you only ground one shield the other one is effectively not shielded as any EMI will build up on the shield and have no place to go.. Tie both shields to ground, the question being whether that should be done at both ends of the cable or only one. I am just an amateur when it comes to some...
  5. chris_f

New guy, Exploring Options for New TT

Also subscribe and check Barter Town here, you can put up a WTB ad. DFW is big enough surely you could find something. Same for Audiogon, cant imagine you wouldnt find something close. Or worth shipping.
  6. chris_f

I have bought "parts" tables from goodwill online and received them well packaged with no damage. I think the dont buy online bit gets overplayed because of the negative internet bias and a handful of bad experiences. Message the seller, ask him if he has shipped turntables before. If he assures...
  7. chris_f

AR XA Turntable Restoration #258023

When cutting edge becomes bleeding edge and just makes a mess.
  8. chris_f

The vinyl resurge has really muddied the waters as well. Where as a few years ago turntables were either obviously cheap and throwaway or they were obviously quality units. Now there is a lot of expensive, mediocre middle grounds with big marketing budgets. When really their only claim to fame...