Recent content by ConradH

1. ConradH

Opinion: The long overdue death of the stick shift car

Both my wife and I have been driving manual transmissions for 50 years, currently a VW Golf Alltrack and a Jetta GLI. Wouldn't want anything else. OTOH, it gives tailgaters six opportunities to hit me on every start-up.
  2. ConradH

Residential Electric Service Upgrade to 100 amp or 150 amp?

Go for 200. At some point everybody is going to have a heat pump. That's something like 40 amps. With electric hot water, stove, dryer and other stuff, 100 amps doesn't leave you enough to charge a car. You may not, but the next owner almost certainly will. Go for 200 amps!
  3. ConradH

Random Thoughts or Whatever

What I find amazing is that kids today will listen to rock and roll from 1970, 54 years ago. When I was a teen in 1970, I wouldn't have listened to anything from 1916! Hey, our music must have been pretty good.
  4. ConradH

Blade-Oil_Newly acquired weapon / tool in my war on entropy and aging vintage units.

I like to check the MSDS for anything that might be interesting. This apparently contains white mineral oil plus 0.1% vitamin E. BTW, I've been fighting entropy for decades and battle is always a draw at best.
  5. ConradH

Actual watts....who can shed light on this subject?

The speaker wire doesn't have to "withstand" 400 watts. It just has to pass the necessary current without heating up. If its resistance is low compared to the load, no problem. Here's an absurd example. Let's say you have a 40000 ohm speaker. You feed it with 20000 volts. Power is E^2/R so you...
  6. ConradH

Turtable spindle weight

There was a plastic clamp sold by Radio Shack way back that I still use. It has a collet clamp that can't scratch the spindle and the whole thing weighs almost nothing. IMHO, something that weighs enough to be useful isn't great for most bearings unless they were way overdesigned to begin with...
  7. ConradH

AT-LP7 Alignment