Recent content by Ducky

1. Ducky

Favorite Bourbon

Four Roses, Makers or Beam -- whatever the LCBO is promoting. Up here in the Great White North we pay on average $27 and up for a 750mL bottle so I buy what's cheapest. :smoke:
  2. Ducky

Now this is a cool console stereo

Nothing wrong with digital, man. I bet we see one of these in a future Quentin Tarantino movie.
  3. Ducky

Good design.

G'day Felix! Yeah a lot of mid-fi amps seem to be current limited under 8 ohms. One thing I've also noticed about new speaker designs is that some speakers rated at 8 ohms really need an amp capable of driving a 4 ohm load. Wonder what that's all about? BTW, Have you heard any of the...
  4. Ducky

Now this is a cool console stereo

...And the subwoofer under it? :scratch2:
  5. Ducky

Tell us about your avatar

I work as a domestic butler... :smoke:
  6. Ducky

Console Tube Stereo Receiver, what the heck is it?

Kuba didn't make their own chassis at first. They were made by Graetz, Loewe-Opta, Nordmende and Telefunken to a lower price point than the OEM production. They began manufacturing their own chassis after they aquired a firm that made radios under the Imperial name. They became a very large...
  7. Ducky

What will you be listening to for your end of the world moment?

Skinny Puppy - Last Rights ... :smoke:
  8. Ducky

Hill Plasmatronic Speaker

Back in 1980 I heard a pair of Plasmatronics at Brack Electronics in Toronto. I was wondering if any AKers have a pair that they use today. I think the company made less than 100 pairs so they are pretty rare. Never seen or heard a pair since... :smoke:
  9. Ducky

Kuba consoles used speakers with alnico magnets (could be used in low powered guitar amps -- sweet sounding) and had excellent cabinet joinery with nice glossy finishes. If you don't have the room you could always sell it at a garage sale; don't leave it in the rain -- please... :tears:
  10. Ducky