Recent content by foofiebeast

1. F

Harman Kardon hk 100m belt replacement help

Greetings all, Sorry this is such a simple question, but I'm trying to get this done and I think i'm just about there! I picked up an hk 100m a few weeks ago. Great physical shape, but playback auto stops after a few seconds. Opened it up and poked around and eventually figured out the belt...
  2. F

Yamaha CDX-E100 Suddenly Will Only Play One CD

Hi all, I have been using the same Yamaha CDX-E100 for many years now. I probably hadn't used it in about 6-8 months when I sat down today to listen to some CDs. FWIW I live in the US. The first CD (Weezer - Maladroit) I put in wouldn't play- as soon as I put it in I could hear a repeated...
  3. F

Yamaha Natural Sound Set (RX-E100, CDX-E100, KX-E100)

I guess I am trying to understand the benefits of using a large transformer as opposed to a wall-wart transformer. If the only difference is that the larger transformers allow for heavier wattage, in this case it would only be more costly, take up significantly more space, and probably be a...
  4. F

Ah, that was my next question, thank you!!:beerchug: Welp I guess step-up transformer it is! I'll have to do a little research and report back. Far too many of the ones I've seen have scarily high failure rates/1 star reviews. I am adamant about getting this working with my setup, but one...
  5. F

That one looks heavier duty, but this concerns me, "However, this transformer does not change the Hz from 50 to 60 or vice versa. In Europe, it's only 50 Hz, so this transformer can only take down the voltage to 110V but does not increase the cycles to 60 Hz. Likewise in the US, this transformer...
  6. F

I want to be sure I am understanding your suggestion correctly. Are you saying I should run a new power line from my breaker box to where the unit is? If so that is both out of my skillset and difficult to do as the room is detached from the house and the power/cables were run underground before...