Recent content by mcp1

1. mcp1

Quad VA One

One more pic.
  2. mcp1

Quad VA One

I’ve been listening to this for a few days in a bedroom system driving Ryan R610’s and I have to say I’m loving it so far. It’s been a while since I have listened to tubes, but the warmth and sense of space along with such a spooky rendering of voices is very appealing to me. I was a little...
  3. mcp1

Some basic streaming questions

I have been using Sonos for several years and have enjoyed it’s intuitive app. My primary source for Music is Tidal Hifi, with a smattering of Sirius, my own rips, and internet radio. What's bothering me is that Sonos doesn't allow me to take advantage of hi-rez. I was thinking about changing...
  4. mcp1

Dahlquist DQ-28 $325 Syracuse, NY Craigslist

One of the cabinets is a little beat up and it was difficult to judge them hooked up to a Pioneer HT receiver that was having problems of its own. Seller was pretty firm on price so I took a pass.
  5. mcp1

Dahlquist DQ-28 $325 Syracuse, NY Craigslist

Going to listen to them today. If in nice shape, any idea about a fair price? $250?
  6. mcp1

Rega DAC Frequency indicator

I just bought a used Rega DAC and was wondering why the frequency indicator shows 44.1k - 48k when I stream internet radio and Sirius XM through my Sonos via coax connection. I always thought that these formats streamed at much lower rates...
  7. mcp1

New grills for Rectilinear III lowboys

Your absolutely right, nude is the way to go because those grills seem to block the highs. Looking at them that way was my motivation for making the new grills.
  8. mcp1

I have owned the RIII's for some time and have come to realize a few things about them. I have tried every imaginable combination, high power, low power...mine sound best in a smaller room and not pushed too hard. My best experiences in this scenario have been with the H/K 430, Marantz 1070 and...
  9. mcp1