Recent content by mquinn25

1. mquinn25

Noob repair help - SX-980

...and I agree with Mark...your caps look fine in those pics. I love that Receiver!
  2. mquinn25

Noob repair help - SX-980

soulscratch...I was scared to death to mess with my SX-3900, but I am really glad I did. I am no expert electronics technician. I rebuilt the power supply, cleaned the pots and switches and replaced all the lamps and cleaned. I even bought a re-wrap tool on Amazon to re-wrap the wires. I...
  3. mquinn25

Pioneer SX-3900 Clean Up and Lamp Project

Mission Accomplished Happy to report my SX-3900 is back to life...clean, shiny and well lit with an almost new POWER SUPPLY. This was not easy for me...but patience and research paid off. The original mission was to replace dead lamps and clean pots. That lead to a PS failure and re-cap...
  4. mquinn25

Need Help Sourcing Obsolete Parts

David, This is EXTREMELY helpful advice and it makes a of of sense. I just did a spot check and don't see any obvious swells or leaks, but I can't really see all the caps. I may need to delve deeper. Thank you for this advice! Mike
  5. mquinn25

jobrewer, It certainly seems to run hot. I've already spotted some copper heat sinks I am going to put on them to try to cool it down a bit. I just love the look and sound of these old Pioneer's. They are a marvel of engineering inside. :-) Mike
  6. mquinn25

John, Thank you! I did exchange a few emails with a guy named Marco at Mouser, but I will try calling next week. Most of the parts he listed as obsolete with no cross reference. Man, a year is a long time to wait! Glad to hear you got it back in service. :-) Thanks for the info. :-) Mike
  7. mquinn25

Hi AK, I have an active SX-3900 thread in the Pioneer section trying to document my clean/re-lamp of an SX-3900. I did what I set out to accomplish, but during reassembly I had some issues with power to the Flouroscan board and the lights. It's failing, so I pulled the Power Supply and it had...