Share This Page

patfont

AK Subscriber, from South Jersey

Subscriber
patfont was last seen:
Viewing forum, Sep 24, 2017 at 6:03 AM
    1. yellowruby
      yellowruby
      Hello, I'm starting to gear up to restore my Marantz 2230 and want to follow your epic restoration thread. You mentioned that you could post a parts list in reply to another user's query on your selection of hyper-fast soft recovery diodes; is there such a one-stop shopping list posted somewhere? I'm kinda new to AK, so don't know if it's squirreled away somewhere online. Thanks, Patrick
    2. Synchro-bias
      Synchro-bias
      Hi Pat,
      What would your choice be with a Marantz CD5000/Philips CD 753 power supply. I can get KG III and II, or FG? Maybe with CD players the FG? any thoughts and of course SilmicII for the rest :) Thanks Sam
    3. DynacoKid79
      DynacoKid79
      Hi Pat,

I was reading your Marantz 3200 recap thread and I wondered if you had kept an upgrade list of the caps/components you replaced on that build? I'm currently tracing a low-audio left channel issue on my 3200, but considering this unit's age, i'm thinking a recap may be in order regardless.

I must admit that i'm still new to hi-fi repair, so any advice you can give would be great.

Thanks!
      -Jake
    4. eedork
      eedork
      Hi Pat -

I've got an Advent 300 question for you. My example has excessive preamp gain. I've had to fashion and install a set of 12 dB attenuators to tame it. Without the attenuators the noise floor is audible, and it overdrives some of the other preamps I've got when used strictly as a tuner/preamp. Have you seen this before?

This is the 300 that you sent an emergency parts drop for last year.

-Matt
    5. EJH3
      EJH3
      Hello Pat,
      Thank you for accepting my one owner (me) ADVENT 300 (shipped from Guam). I am looking forward to getting it set up for the next 35+ years of great musical enjoyment.
      Eddie
    6. ChicagoTom
      ChicagoTom
      Hello Pat,