Recent content by shelly_d

1. shelly_d

Zero Zone tube preamp putting out DC?

The 12AX7 has 2 different heater configs. Using 6.3 volts it needs 300 ma per tube. Using 12.6 volts it needs only 150 ma. If your board is needing a 14 volt filament supply then I would guess it is wired as a 12.6 volt circuit. Shelly_D
  2. shelly_d

Zero Zone tube preamp putting out DC?

Checked back in on this thread after a LOOOONNNNNG time away. If you still have not had any progress on this I would suggest removing the regulators and putting in a 4 ohm, 5 watt resistor. Mount it up from the board for cooling because it will be dissipating a bit over 2 watts. Reasoning for...
  3. shelly_d

McIntosh C20 Tube Positions and Impact

Read them from the schematic in the service manual. Shelly_D
  4. shelly_d

I don't know what you mean by "best" but as an engineer I will rephrase that and provide my opinion on what I would do. I would want my 2 quietest tubes in the phono preamp spot. That is the one that is most subject to noise. To do that I would tube roll, swapping back and forth between...
  5. shelly_d

Looking at the schematic I can help with only half the tubes. V1 and V2 are the inital phono preamps with the various compensations the preamp offers. Guesing at V3 - V6 would only lead you astray. I just don't recgnize the circuits right off the bat and would need serious time to study them...
  6. shelly_d

Pioneer PL-560 Strobe flash issue

I have downloaded the manual and looked at the circuit. It is a very simple one for the neon light. It is fed by 150V DC from the power transformer. It is turned on and off by a transistor on the cathode (negative side) of the light. That is transistor Q3, a 2SC1279S. That transistor gets its...
  7. shelly_d

Ifi zen DAC v2, am I missing something?