New vintage TT score! Pl 540 content

Moby Dick

I am new to this awesome hobby and love the pioneer pl 500 line of turntables.
I have had my eye on the local Craigslist like a hawk and today was my lucky day.

This afternoon a listing for a "turntable for sale" popped-up.
I clicked on the link and low and behold a pioneer pl 540 was listed for only $90.

I quickly responded and within an hour had an agreement of where,when and how much.

I ended up with this complete very good condition(except for the grime and minor dust cover scratches) pioneer pl 540 for all of $75.

Once I got it home the first thing I did was wipe down the dust over and peek at the cartridge
It has an AT DR 300e.
A bit disappointed reading reviews on it.
It is a P mount moving magnet lower end cart from what I gather.

Still have a lot of researching to do but thought I would send a request out to the collective knowledge base here and get some advice.

My plans for this TT is to do a wood veneer.
I also have a bic 960 which has a shure M91ed cartridge and hi-track N91ed stylus.

Will my pl 540 accept the 1/2 inch shure cartridge?
Is the shure a good match for the pioneer tonearm?

I will say I really like the sound of the bic table with the shure cartridge but I am keeping the pioneer and would like to try this cartridge in it.

Any help you can offer this new guy is greatly appreciated.

Now for the pics:

IMG_1147_zpsavb5fcvj.jpg

IMG_1146_zpslnublyxg.jpg

IMG_1150_zpsrptqzqdx.jpg

Last edited:
I am new to this awesome hobby and love the pioneer pl 500 line of turntables.
I have had my eye on the local Craigslist like a hawk and today was my lucky day.

This afternoon a listing for a "turntable for sale" popped-up.
I clicked on the link and low and behold a pioneer pl 540 was listed for only $90.

I quickly responded and within an hour had an agreement of where,when and how much.