Yamaha A-1000 Repair and Info Thread

Did you check the main outputs (TR158 and TR160)?
You can just lift any 2 legs from the board to diode test the transistors.

EDIT - a better question would be which ones are 159 and 160?

I know they are two of the output power transistors, but I am still new to reading schematics, and they are not labeled on the board or in the component layout diagram, so I don't know which is which, or what you mean by center, as there are 4 on each side.

Also , the resistor goes across both driver transistors, so would I not need to check both?

Last edited:
You only need to lift any 2 of the 3 legs to isolate it from the circuit completely (would need at least 2 paths connected for anything to affect it). It's for convenience, you can lift all 3 if you want. Just test between all of them, common mode of failure for outputs is dead-short so you'd know pretty fast.

For more than you ever wanted to know though:
http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/bipolar-junction-transistor-testing-basics.43186/

2SA (green) = PNP, 2SC (black) = NPN
Easy on those bigger ones with the color coding

Pin order from left to right is E-C-B on every 3-leg BJT transistor in that amp from memory.

Also , the resistor goes across both driver transistors, so would I not need to check both?

Yeah test both, if it were me I'd test the outputs first just because those are the more expensive parts, and kinda the giveaway that stuff will be dead downstream. Fingers crossed for ya. Maybe just lift 2 legs each for all the transistors along that heatsink, then test all the black ones at once and all the green ones at once, will make the testing easier.

Last edited: