Receiver Shootout. SX-980, SX-1080, SX-1280, Kenwood KR-6030, Marantz 2230 and Sony STR-DH130

benjmatt

Lets start with I am a complete newb and wanted to get some experience with different gear. I started with a SX-980 and went from there. I did own a KR-9600 for a short time but didn't care for the unit. (It was very loud though!) This is what we did and we had an absolute blast!
We listened to each receiver through the same set of 4 speakers and the same song through the Sony DVD/CD player through a Yamaha GE-30 10 Band Equalizer.
The Speakers are two of the BIC America RTR-EV15 and two Sony 3 way speakers with 10" woofer, midrange and tweeter. (I actually got them for free, the grills were scratched from someones cat but the speakers work and sound awesome for free! This setup is in my shop with measures 40ft x 70ft with 14' tall ceilings and is in the country. The only person mad about the volume was my wife in our home 350ft away.
(Yes she did complain it was too loud).

The only reason the Sony STR-DH130 and Kenwood 6030 and Marantz 2230 Receivers were there was because I had them in my possession.

3 of us recorded our opinions of each unit and shared between each unit as we went.

The Song was by Jake Owen, Driving All Night off of the Days of Gold Album.

No adjustments were allowed on the EQ except the output level. We did do bass and treble adjustments on each receiver. We tried each unit out at three volume levels, soft, listening volume and loud.