I Want To Build My First Turntable....Help!!

daza152

Hey guys I've been collecting vinyl seriously for many many years and have only now found myself wanting to build a turntable. I would like to start off with something simple, I am ok with electrics but not what I would call a rockstar Electronic wizz. I can follow step by step photo images of How to Do....most things, so should I buy new parts and assemble or find broken turntables and strip parts off them? if you could please give me some advice or how and where to start this would be really appreciated! Thanks.

:needpics:

Last edited:
Start by refurbishing a classic turntable. Building from scratch isn't for the meek, what are your design goals?

What tools at your disposal? If you're making the moving parts you need a big lathe, and know how to use it.

Could take a thorens like a TD-160 and build a beautiful plinth for it... Or could go all out and machine everything.

I've only ever seen one totally home made turntable and tonearm... On a trip to the former soviet Union, I met an audiophile who made it in a military focused machine shop before communism ended .. Everything including the tonearm and bearings all made by hand. Wad beautiful work but he said he got the geometry wrong with the tonearm and was never satisfied. He replaced it with a high end Denon and it was sitting on his balcony, literally hundreds of hours of work in it.

Keep in mind that every single part of even a cheap turntable has been very carefully considered to control resonance, its a very big project to do this successfully.

Old idlers like Rek-O-Kuts (and the ilk) have great platters and bearings that you can find relatively inexpensively and can be converted to belt drive (as long as they are the straight sided platters.