Short RCA + long speaker cable or long RCA and short speaker cable?

I’m a Newbie but my guess would be ..
If running True Balanced signal wire ,then go up to 10’-15’ with signal wires..
If running Single Ended signal wire , keep the signal wire short up to 2’-5’..
Max length for Speaker wire ??
Don’t think I would feel comfortable going more than 15’-20’ with Speaker wire..

Don’t think I would feel comfortable going more than 15’-20’ with Speaker wire..

Okay, he admitted he's a noob making a WAG, so let's go easy on him, fellers. Careful, noob, you never know when one of the lions might be hungry. :biggrin:

It's easy to go up in gauge with speaker wire to compensate for a longer run.

But, you can't go up a gauge or two with RCA cable...or can you? If not, then what can be done with RCA cable to compensate for the longer run, if anything?

True balanced as in XLR and or TRS? Heck, I have gone 50ft without problems there.

Low impedance paths (strong current) are more "stiff" than high impedance paths (weak current). From an EMC (electromagnetic compatibility) standpoint the strong current paths are more immune to interference than are the weak current paths. Therefore you want to have the least exposure (smallest length) in the weak current path - the line level RCA path.

It's easy to go up in gauge with speaker wire to compensate for a longer run.

But, you can't go up a gauge or two with RCA cable...or can you? If not, then what can be done with RCA cable to compensate for the longer run, if anything?

There is nothing to compensate for in line level at this length. It's a high impedance voltage bridge. The current of the signal is so miniscule there is effectively no loss of level.

And, with anything remotely resembling decent shield, the odds of picking up noise in home environments is about as close to zero as can be without actually being zero.

Last edited:
True balanced as in XLR and or TRS? Heck, I have gone 50ft without problems there.