Need some advice on what to do with a pristine eico hf81

Majkl

Let me start by declaring my ignorance and I think luck. I heard about the eico HF81 but I didn't know very much about it and have never had any tube amps or equipment of this age before. I ran across a gentlemen who had one and said it was in pristine condition.

I'm thinking how pristine condition can this thing be in? I mean its from 1958 or so. Anyhow I went out on a limb and picked it up from him for $400 which I thought was a little high but not out of the ballpark.

His uncle had passed away 2 years ago and had been an electrical engineer by trade and was the original owner of this eico. He had stoped using it in the early 1970s and it sat there unused on a bookshelf until now.

Talk about a time capsule. I have been reading on these forums about the restoration work that is done to these amps and they are talking about replacing this and that and the various non original parts in their amps that they are swapping out because they feel that x y or z is a better match or provides better performance and so on.

So here is my question. What if the eico was 100% stock and original and outside of dust needed nothing. Was assembled by an electrical engineer and all the soldering is done right and precise and everything is clean with no visible rust or degradation at all. Maybe a couple of contacts have a tiny bit of corrosion. If you were not intending on keeping it would you clean out the dust and call it a day. Would you leave the dust as it is and how they do with "barn finds" and cars and pass them along in their original condition as found in the barn dust and all. Restore and replace parts or leave in all the original parts.