When does collecting cross the line and become hoarding?

msg1975

A look down the rabbit hole. When does collecting equipment cross the line of rational behavior?

Sorry, this is longer winded than I intended….

When I was a kid, I had a great stereo that I mostly built from broken components people gave me and which I repaired. The exception was my Sony receiver (STR-720), which was the very first expensive item I ever bought with my own hard earned money and which I still have and use. But once I graduated college and got married, audio took a back seat to family and career. I was content with a few "home theater in a box" solutions while my receiver, equalizer, and TT sat in a box in the garage. My mom threw out my excellent homemade speakers shortly after I got married as well as my CD player and cassette decks. I was ok with it at the time.

At 38, I found myself a widower and a full time dad, and without any sense of who I was before I was married. So I incrementally got back into the hobbies I had as a kid. First came a few classic cars, mostly complete b/c I didn't have the time to restore anything anymore. Then came the audio bug, and it came on strong. It started innocently enough. I redecorated the house and found myself with an empty credenza top in my office. So I dug out my stereo and proudly placed it on the credenza, and located an old pair of mid 90s JBL bookshelf speakers someone had given me. After a refoam, I realized how terrible they sounded, and I decided to replace them. So began the journey…