CA-810 Relay not clicking

Stubla

Hi all!

First, thanks for all the great information available on this site. I'm a complete novice to this vintage amp malarkey and so I've scoured it to find an answer to my woes - but to no avail.

I suppose first a little history. I picked this amp up and it sounded great! After about three months though, it would make a popping sound through the speakers and then play a lot quieter. (There is another post that sounded similar to this issue but nothing there I tried worked).

1. So, recommendation 1 always appears to be clean all the pots, so I did that. In fact I also did it when I first got the unit. That had no effect.

2: A fairly complete recap. There are a couple of bipolar caps that I haven't change yet. This was the start of my current woes. Initially, I just changed the large filter caps and switched it on. The relay at this point started to click intermittently - i.e. every few times I turned it on. I bit the bullet and recapped pretty much everything else on the main board and tone control board. This also didn't help - in fact the relay stopped clicking completely.

3. I turned my attention to the relay circuit protection. I have replaced TR601 to TR606 with those suggested by Avionic here:
TR601 2SC1918
---2SC1918----sub KSC1815
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...=sGAEpiMZZMshyDBzk1/Wi8oN7VHZ91Ok9NiSl87vuMg=
TR602 2SA844----sub KSA1015
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...=sGAEpiMZZMshyDBzk1/Wi8oN7VHZ91OkEdHsVWhAnIo=

TR604 and TR601 are not differential pairs like 6 & 5 and 3 & 2, so I changed TR 604 for a KSC1815 the same as TR601 is.

It was at this point I screwed something up and TR606 shorted - the relay started clicking again every time I switched on the amp - but without a few seconds wait and with suitably large pop to the speakers (DC I assume). I swapped out TR606 for a replacement and the relay no longer clicks.

4. I swapped out TR806 and TR805 with replacement transistors.

Some Measurements:

TR01