AK Member Builds Highly Regarded Speakers

Sounds Good!

I gazed a gazeless stare . . .
I've been hanging around AK for a few years now, and I've gotten to know a handful of members outside of AK. Brian Salazar (aka AK member baco99) has been my speaker mentor for a couple of years. Brian's a great guy and a speaker guru, so much so that he is producing his own line of speakers, Holt Hill Audio.

He just got a great review that I thought I would share:

https://positive-feedback.com/reviews/hardware-reviews/holt-hill-audio-cionnsaile-monitors/

Incredibly impressive review. It is great to see one of our own living the dream.

Brian has been a great guy to me and has been very helpful to me in my audio endeavors! He is a wealth of knowledge and can only imagine what these little sounds like. I hoping to own a pair very very soon!

Wow @baco99, congratulations to you! That's a huge accomplishment. I read the review and it sounds like you have created a worthwhile product. Not an easy thing to do, speaker design is very tricky. I hope to hear a pair one day and see how it compares to my favourite speaker, the KEF LS50, since they are the same MSRP.

Thanks very much! The LS50 are a very significant force in the market. I don't want to talk them down, because they are great speakers. I think the difference here is HHA speakers are small-batch and hand-built. Each speaker weighs 42 lbs and most of the weight is in the cabinet materials which were carefully selected. I follow the philosophy that density reduces cabinet resonances better than any other method, and I aimed for reduced resonances. Also, the HHA are significantly larger than the LS50.