Tube Amps (below $1500) Recommendations

There are a few used Unison Research units on the Bay.

I’ve been listening to their hybrid SR-1 for the past 2 years at my local coffee shop (via Tidal or Project TT and through Ohm Walsh 2’s) and i can’t say enough about how much i love the sound. I demoed a new unit at one of the snootbag audio stores in my city and fell in love (though i can’t afford a new one).

There are a few used Unison Research units on the Bay.

I’ve been listening to their hybrid SR-1 for the past 2 years at my local coffee shop (via Tidal or Project TT and through Ohm Walsh 2’s) and i can’t say enough about how much i love the sound. I demoed a new unit at one of the snootbag audio stores in my city and fell in love (though i can’t afford a new one).

''snootbag'' :rflmao::rflmao::rflmao:

My favourite amp so far is an Oldchen K3. Buy on AliExpress without its complement of tubes with the transformers custom wound for your voltage. Source 4x Tung Sol KT120, 2x Shuguang CV181-Z and 1x Melz 6H8C metal base tubes and you're in heaven.

Running mine with Aurum Cantus F620 speakers (89db). Your Klipsch KG4 would be far easier to drive

I'm a few days new owner of a Rogue Cronus Magnum aquired through AK Bartertown thread. Two sold well under your budget max this month. My first tube amp. It has a NOS Mullard tube in preamp position. I can't comment on tube life or sound comparison to other modern tube amps. I think it is lightly warm compared to Rogue Spinx tube/SS hybride or SS amps I have. Not nearly as warm as vintage Grundig console I've heard.. It has100 wpc, so should drive most speakers easily. Has 4 ohm and 8 ohm speaker capability.
I think it sounds very nice.

EDIT: Sorry, I just read where your in Malasia. Rogue amps or Bartertown sales are likely half world away. Good hunting.

Last edited: