Stylus Compatibility: Technics SL-QD22

Ryan Scruggs

Hi, all!

I am relatively new to the hi-fi community, and I am looking for suggestions before purchasing a new stylus for my Technics SL-QD22.

This turntable was my dad's when he was around my age, and had it fitted with a Shure m99e cartridge and stylus when he bought it. It has since been worn down, and I am now in the market for something new! Perusing the stylus marketplace proved a daunting task, so that's why I'm reaching out to you guys!

I do know the differences between moving magnet and moving coil styli, but my concern lies within replacing the stylus, while retaining the original tone arm.

Thanks!

Hi, all!

I am relatively new to the hi-fi community, and I am looking for suggestions before purchasing a new stylus for my Technics SL-QD22.

This turntable was my dad's when he was around my age, and had it fitted with a Shure m99e cartridge and stylus when he bought it. It has since been worn down, and I am now in the market for something new! Perusing the stylus marketplace proved a daunting task, so that's why I'm reaching out to you guys!

I do know the differences between moving magnet and moving coil styli, but my concern lies within replacing the stylus, while retaining the original tone arm.

Thanks!

Here are two candidates;

Good elliptical
https://www.lpgear.com/product/SHSM0099E.html

Better elliptical
https://www.lpgear.com/product/SHN099EOR.html :music:

Thanks for those! In the event that I want to replace the cartridge as well, will I run into any problems with turntable compatibility? Obviously, I wouldn't purchase anything meant for DJs or for mono playback, but I don't want to purchase something that will just simply not work with my turntable. Thanks again for the replacement styli links. I'll probably replace the Shure's stylus just because why not?