Technics SL-D2 Help please

Burtuckyboy

Hey everyone I'm a rookie who picked up a nice Techics SL-D2. Sounds horrible even with a clean LP. Noticed one of the RCA/Phono cables is split. The ground wire appears fine. How easy is it to replace those, or should I take it to somebody that repairs vintage equipment? After some research I'm going to buy the AT95e cartridge too. Any other tips/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks. Todd20180318_213003.jpg 20180318_212916.jpg

Depends upon your soldering skills. In the scheme of things, a pretty easy fix. But you have to be careful, as the very fine tonearm wires attach to the same board as the interconnect cable. You don't want to damage them, or you will be facing a much more difficult project.

Also, you have to be able to strip off the outer sheath without cutting off the mesh ground wrapped around the inner sheath (which contains the signal wire). The goal is to end up with a return wire (by twisting the mesh into a wire) and a signal wire (by stripping off the inner vinyl/plastic sheath). You do this on both right and left channel cables. You will see what I mean when you remove the bottom panel and look at how the existing interconnect wires are stripped and attached. Make sure to secure the tonearm (and remove the headshell by loosening the round collar where the headshell attaches to the tonearm) before turning the table on its side to remove the bottom panel.

But before you do all this, it looks like you could just split the cable a bit further (use a sharp blade at the "seam", so as not to further extend the damage) and use some electrical tape...it appears unlikely that the wiring itself is damaged. This will allow you to determine why the table sounds so bad before going to the trouble of replacing the wire.

Are you getting sound from both right and left channels? Any hum or buzzing? If yes to the first and no to the second, the cable is probably ok.