Fried Speaker Pick-up/ID needed

Wolverine

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
IMG_0886.JPG IMG_0887.JPG Spotted an ad on CL advertising a pair of "Vintage Fried Speakers" that despite my satisfaction with my current set-up got my interest. I have a vague familiarity that Fried produced some highly regarded speakers I have no knowledge of them. Fortunately the seller and I worked a fair price given that we both did not no what model they are and I picked them up today.

The ad clearly mentioned the incorrect model but the model # is clearly missing. Perhaps they were stickers that peeled off. They are covered with a faux leather material rather than a veneer with a foam grill that attaches by strips attached to the front. Fairly heavy and have a trapezoid shape to them. Dimensions are; H14" W10" Base and 6" at the top. There is a 1" tweeter and 5" woofer.

From what I could find they look like what Fried called a Satellite speaker - possibly a model C but I just know. Are there any Fried experts out there that could assist with an ID?

I'm no Fried expert, but those look like a model C3L.

You might be right as they look very similar. From what I have seen with the C3L's is that they have 6.5 woofers where as the ones I have I think are smaller unless measure from the basket edge to basket edge but I always thought speakers were measured from surround edge to surround edge.

View attachment 1207163 View attachment 1207164 Spotted an ad on CL advertising a pair of "Vintage Fried Speakers" that despite my satisfaction with my current set-up got my interest. I have a vague familiarity that Fried produced some highly regarded speakers I have no knowledge of them. Fortunately the seller and I worked a fair price given that we both did not no what model they are and I picked them up today.