Questions about my Pioneer PL-530

Amine

Hello ! My name is Amine I'm knew in this forum and I'm happy to join you !

Actually i'm a guitar player for 15 years, and a vinyl lover.

I used to listen to my records with a record player and I quickly realised that it was destroying my records so I stopped using it until I earn enough money to buy me a Vinyl audio setup.

And this is when I found, in my grand parents, a Pioneer sx-950 Stereo Receiver (i'd love to talk about it in another topic) and a magnificent Pioneer PL-530 ! I'm a musician but I have a very poor technical knowledge about music devices electronics so here is some photos

DSCN0767.JPG

DSCN0768.JPG

DSCN0770.JPG

Like you've seen, the headshell is completely non functionnal. So the problem is that I need a Headshell/Cartridge/Stylus to test the turntable, and if the tyrntable works or can work with a few (cheap) repairs, I will buy one. I have friends who have Technics sl series and Reloop rp 2000, and 1000. I was asking if the headshell of those turntables can be compatible with the pioneer pl 530.

I would love to understand better the electronics and how can I restore this turntable, but I think it's too much difficult for a begineer to open it without any informations ! So if someone has any experience to share for that turntable, feel free to help !

Thank you and sorry for my english !

Welcome to AK :)

First off, that is a nice table, plus it came from the family and that adds alot to wanting to restore it.

You can use a bayonet headshell on this table. The concern would be trying to match the weight to what you have, but it can be worked around. You can also replace the leads on your headshell. Just be careful as they are very thin. Once you do that, then it's time to look for a cartridge. Find a budget that will work best for you. That is how you will start off anyway

The manual is on vinylengine.com. It's free to join and you can find a manual for your table which will help with set up