What happens inside an amplifier?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Love the foot on the accelerator analogy. Another one I've heard is a hand controlling a water spigot. A small turn one way or the other increases or decreases a stream of water from a trickle to a fire hose. Imagine the hand turning rapidly back and forth in time to the music.

In the spirit of the same explanation your friend gave ... An amplifier takes small signals and turns them into larger ones by increasing their amplitude.

In my never-ending journey to understand vintage electronics, I find myself looking for footholds, concepts I do actually understand, to help me decipher what I don't understand. When I was a photographer, someone told me, "All a camera does is hold the film flat so that the lens can focus an image on it. You are painting with light." I never forgot that, and understanding the overall concept really helped to guide me through f-stops, shutter speeds, film speed, etc.

Can anyone explain what happens to electricity as it enters a vintage receiver/amplifier and makes its way through the various circuits? Feel free to explain as if to a small child: Mr. Electron is in a big hurry! He is also very lazy and will always take the easiest, quickest ground, even if the path is through your finger! What in the hell is going on in there? Why is there a bridge rectifier? Why do we need so many damned caps?

Even if it pains your great mind, please oversimplify so that a mere mortal may comprehend what's going on behind the green curtain (Wizard of Oz reference; nothing naughty). I know the difference between AC and DC and not a heck of a lot more than that.

Turn your attention to the dictionary...

TO AMPLIFY...............

• increase the amplitude of (an electrical signal or other oscillation).
  • cause to become more marked or intense.
An amplifier does this ^^^^