SD4020

Stink Bear

Looking for info on this cassette deck. I have no experience with repairing / servicing tape decks. I came across this one recently, the guy I got it from said it just needs belts. I opened it up and one belt is melted to the motor shaft. When I turn on power the motor starts spinning. I can turn the big pulley easily. It's clean inside and I don't see any burned / damaged components.
Before I order belts, is there anything else I should check?
I'm not finding much info on this particular model. Is it a good one?
Any estimates on value? I would say it's in fair to good condition.

It’s a nice deck and worth fixing. If you’re handy at disassembling/reassembling things, you can probably do this. You can download a service manual from hifiengine.com (free membership required). Go to Library—->Marantz—->Cassette Decks. You will likely need to remove the mechanical transport mechanism to get to the belts. The manual has some disassembly instructions. Then it’s just a matter of figuring out what needs to be removed to get the belts off. Usually not too much. When you order belts, also get a new pinch roller. They are nearly always hardened and out of round. Good luck!
Steve

Thanks Steve, sounds like good advice. I've been an aircraft mechanic for many years so not too good at disassembling/reassembling things.:)
I already downloaded the service manual and just kind of skimmed through it. It looks like there are 3 belts, 2 could be replaced without disassembly. I think you're right about having to take the transport mechanism out to get to the 3rd belt.
I didn't know about the pinch roller, so that's good to know.
Any advice on where to order belts from? I found that I can get them from Vintage.Electronics.net. They also have belts for my Sony TC-K81, which probably could use belts and a pinch roller as well, and I would only have to pay once for shipping...........................
Brett