What happens inside an amplifier?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well the one thing I must add here is from transistor theory during USAF tech school. We were all, as a class tracing signals through drawings.
We had changed over from Tubes to Transistors in our circuits and the big difference that was mantra'd into our brains when we went thru a transistor is
"what does a transistor do to a signal? (all together) "Invert & Multiply". Of course transistors being digital the square wave was emitted larger and upside down. Which brings up Boolean algebra & flip flops. After all the transistor is no more than a amp.

We were all, as a class tracing signals through drawings.

Doing something like that would really help me, but I majored in English, unfortunately. I seem to learn the most from actually doing stuff and making mistakes, to the great chagrin of whatever amp I'm "fixing."

Love the foot on the accelerator analogy. Another one I've heard is a hand controlling a water spigot. A small turn one way or the other increases or decreases a stream of water from a trickle to a fire hose. Imagine the hand turning rapidly back and forth in time to the music.

Thank you. This all helps me.

The current needed by the transistor varies, and the power supply must be able to deliver high current very quickly and smoothly.

So when Kenwood put out a "high speed" receiver that was what they were talking about? Great summary; thank you!

Well the one thing I must add here is from transistor theory during USAF tech school. We were all, as a class tracing signals through drawings.
We had changed over from Tubes to Transistors in our circuits and the big difference that was mantra'd into our brains when we went thru a transistor is