Have you ever regretted re-capping something? Also, can capacitors be tested without being removed?

thurber

As I wade deeper into this hobby, I am dealing with the common question (and maybe tired to some of you here, so apologies) of when to re-cap. As a musician I know that people often tread very lightly re-capping vintage instruments like old Strats that still work well and have that vintage sound that could be lost forever with a re-cap. I don't see integrated amplifiers and speakers as an equivalent situation, though - it's hard to put into words why, but I just don't. I guess I expect clarity of whatever is being presented, even if it's the sound of Bo Diddley's recorded through a waffle cone connected to a lamp cord onto a wax cylinder. But I still have a bit of trepidation that I think is leftover from my limited experience with instruments.

So I guess my question is - has anyone here ever regretted re-capping an amp or speaker? Knowing the answer might put my mind at ease.

Also a quick general question - most tutorials I have been watching they they capacitiors that have been removed from the unit - is it possible to test them without un-soldering them?

I've had no regrets recapping amps nor speakers, altho I have had to do more work/learning to get best results in the case of crossover caps (mostly having to do with maintaining ESR values).

And to be clear, I'm not saying that it always (or even most of the time) provides noticeably better performance. To the extent I've seen (heard) significant improvement, it is usually in speakers. Improvements in amps, in my experience, are more subtle (if there at all). That said, I've never had an amp or receiver that sounded worse after a recap.

With amps/receivers, I look at recapping, by and large, as preventive maintenance. Improvement in sound quality is a bonus.