U Turn Orbit Plus or Fluane rt81?

Dion Fan

Alright. So at first I wanted the audio technica lp120. But after looking at many reviews i threw it out the window (not litteraly). So finally im stuck between two great entry level tables. The U Turn Orbit Plus and the Fluance RT81. Anyone know which one to go with? Or maybe even better tables to look at? I know all about vinyl and turntables. I have for almost 2 years now. And ive had 2 vintage tts (that both failed on me). Even though i may know alot. Im still a beginner,
but I am ready to pull the trigger on a modern deck.

+3 for the orbit. I had one for a couple years. I just passed it along to my son. I had zero problems with it. Mine came with the OM5 cartridge, wood base and acrylic plater. If you get one spring for the cork mat. The felt mat tends to come up with the record.

+5. Orbit Special Walnut owner here and happy with the machine and the customer service. It's a simple, elegant and well-done machine IMO.

I have both of these decks, the Orbit for the bedroom, and the Fluance in the basement. Both are solid, i wouldn't hesitate on either of them.

I personally think the Fluance is every bit of the deck the Orbit is. Cartridge changes are FAR easier on the Fluance. And it's old-school look is terribly attractive. It's got a thick rubber mat and is well isolated. If you could use the built-in preamp, it's pretty solid sounding. And no fuzting around with the belt for speed changes.

If you have no use for the preamp, and don't constantly need to go to 45, I'd just roll with the Orbit. Its very well built, and Ben at U-Turn is on the ball with customer service.

Any table with a built in preamp is a non starter, even for the cheap parts they use in the preamp the cost could of been better spent elsewhere.

I have both of these decks, the Orbit for the bedroom, and the Fluance in the basement. Both are solid, i wouldn't hesitate on either of them.