New Collector and User

Bodhieke

Hey all

I am new to collecting and using vintage audio gear. I have been doing some research and started my collection last year. This is what I ended up with and cost:

Kenwood KR- 7050 Receiver = $10
Kenwood KD- 2055 Turntable= $180
Kenwood KX- 1030 3 Head Cassette Deck= $40
Pioneer Centrex TH-30 8-Track= $30
Akai M-8 Reel-to-Reel = $25
Marantz SD-432 Dual Cassette Deck= $20
Marantz AT-4 Audio Timer= Free
Sony CDP-C705 5-Disc CD Changer= $10
Phillips DCC 900 Cassette Deck= $200
Logitech Bluetooth Receiver = $20
2 Four Channel Switch Boxes = $18
Sony MDS JE330 Minidisc =$36
ESM1 Speakers (some canadian company)= $25

Not Too Bad. I would like to find and Elcaset at a reasonable price. Just curious as to peoples opinion and any advice you may have. Everything started when i found my receiver in a thrift store for 10 beans! thanks!

I picked up a CDP-C705 and it was a decent unit. Then I changed the LPF chip from probably a 5532 or some other common one to an OPA2134 or some nicer sounding more modern chip and that machine sounds great now. Used to use it only when I wanted to play more than one CD. Now with the remote it is my go to unit in the main rig...volume control and all the other nice remote features.

It has the same service manual as the C75ES and C85ES models, part of the ES line so some of the parts inside are good. If the unit is playing and then just stops and resets, it is from a weak power switch. Bad contacts in the switch, easy to pull, open, clean and replace. I replaced mine and found out how easy a cleaning would be when I swapped it. So I guess I have a spare.

Last edited:
Nice to see the prices paid in a forum other than buck and change since you aren't asking about value we can see those numbers here.

So far I like the Kenwood gear, the Sony CDP, obviously and the Energy ESM speakers should be decent, too.
A great start, thanks to that deal on the KR-7050..

Last edited: