First time buyer of Sansui G-8000

bicroti

Hello! I'm very new to the vintage audio scene, but I've tried to do as much research as I could over time. I'm pretty young, so I definitely wasn't alive when Sansui was in its prime. For about a year or two I've really wanted to purchase either a G-8000 or G-9000, and boy oh boy, I just found a G-8000 about an hour and a half away from me. I'm going to go see it on Saturday and I'm pretty sure I'll be walking out of the place with it. It's a beauty. So my question here really comes down to the rest of the setup that I need to purchase. I don't have anything. No speakers, turntable, anything. My dad is big into hi-fi audio, but he only knows the newer stuff so he couldn't suggest anything for me. Like I said I'm trying to research and learn about it, but I'm having a really hard time figuring out what speakers and turntable I should get. I'd like to go with more vintage, but what do you all think? I really appreciate the help and I definitely need it. Thank you so much.

Also, the place I'm buying from have these. Maybe if I buy them together they will give me a deal. What do you think?
Acoustic Research AR90
Cerwin Vega D1
JVC SK-15A
Kenwood KL-777D
Pioneer CS-88 4 way speakers

Last edited:
There's no right answer to your question. What's your budget? This might bring less than 10,000 suggestions. First thing I'd suggest is search this site for ~dc offset and you~ and ~deoxit.~

Hello, my budget isn't too big. I'm not sure how much a solid mid-level speaker and/or turntable would be. Would around 500-750 a pair be a good price for speakers and then maybe 500 for a turntable? Thank you.

I have my G-8000 feeding my JBL L36s. I have also had it feed a pair of DCM TimeFrame 400s. In both cases the sound was great. Those speakers could easily gotten for $150 or less.

I have read that the AR90s are nice speakers but haven't ever heard any.

A pair of Klipsch Forte or Chorus should sound nice with the G8000.