bluenote79

I'm relatively new to the game and am trying to make a decision between purchasing some vintage gear or going with new gear. I would greatly appreciate some basic advice from the masters here.

My prerequisites:

First and foremost, I am tired of my current vintage gear breaking down on me. I want a stereo that works and sounds good. It doesn't have to be top of the line, but it does need to work.
I do like the warm sound of the vintage gear that I've listened to over a cold/digital one. (Is it possible to get a warm sound from any of the new gear out there? Teach me Yoda!)
If I were to go new, my budget is $4000 tops for receiver, speakers, turntable, and DAC.

I currently have a pair of Fisher XP 7's, powered by a Pioneer SX6000 and spinning records on my Dual 1257 turntable. I am not happy with this set up. I like the Pioneer, but I keep having trouble with it and it has returned to the shop more times than I care to admit. Also, over time it has all started to sound a little too muddy to me. Someone else in the group hinted that it may be due to my speakers.

The choices:

USED/VINTAGE:
I'm looking at purchasing a used combo of McIntosh C24 Preamp & Dynaco ST150 for $1100 all together. They have both been recently serviced. I'm also looking at a pair of Klipsch Heresey speakers from 1980 for $425. Thoughts and recommendations on this gear would be greatly appreciated. I don't have to go this route, but if it seems like a good deal and it works with my budget. I would also end up buying a new turntable. Either Rega Planar 2 or Debut Carbon DC Esprit SB or what someone here recommends based on years of experience and superiority to me.

NEW:
The guy at the hifi store recommend these components with my budget:
Rega Brio receiver
Paradigm Monitor SE's
Rega Planar 2 turntable

Thanks so much for any and all help!
--Brad