Can you "dampen" the thump from kicks on a ported sub?

Not at all, I'm no expert, just a hobby for me. As stated in my original post, the foam will slow the air movement. This will dampen the thud sound he is speaking of.

As for "bass reflex design" , placement is key. In this situation it is what it is.

I don't think it would "totally suck" as you say. There are speakers designed with removable foam blocks for this exact reason.

My DM-640s had foam and adjustable ports...

I would also use foam on my snell towers, this would help with booming bass in a small space. The idea is not to stop the air, but to slow it just enough to dampen it.

But maybe for a sub it's different. Im not a fan of subs as is so I say again.. what do I know :)

In those speakers with removable foam plugs, the plugs are designed to provide different alignments.They are not random chunks of foam shoved in the port. What you were doing on the Snell's was preventing the air from sloshing back and forth in the port, creating a whooshing sound. The result of this without a corresponding adjustment in overall alignment would probably be a premature rolloff of the deep bass which would prevent the room geometry related booming by eliminating the frequencies responsible for the booming. This would also significantly modify the frequency response in the deep bass.

Last edited:
Its the design of the sub not whether its ported or not. A lot of ported subs are boomy due to mfr using a driver with to high of qts. For a decent ported sub the driver should have a qts of .5 or lower.
I suspect it's usually a deliberate choice of driver & enclosure to result in Qtc >1.

thiele-smallgraph.gif

I suspect it's usually a deliberate choice of driver & enclosure to result in Qtc >1.

thiele-smallgraph.gif