PS Audio Sprout100 Integrated. Any opinions?

HiFiJeff

I have been on the hunt for new amp for my system and have contemplated the PS Audio Sprout100. I have known about this little all in one integrated amp for awhile now but never really paid much attention to it. Anyone here have experience with it? It's even got a phono input and a subwoofer output! It's a simple all in one solution but if I am not going to get better sound out of it compared to my current Class D amps like the Allo Volt+, then there is no point. It looks interesting though.

https://www.psaudio.com/products/sprout100-integrated-amplifier/

upload_2018-11-15_12-50-14.png

I have no personal experience with it, but a) a friend of mine owns one paired with Dali Zensor speakers and likes it - he's had that set up for a few years now, and b) I believe there is an AK thread somewhere dogging the amp. That doesn't help you in the least, I know. But it gets this thread bumped.

EDIT - oh wait is this a new edition of the Sprout? My friend has the old version.

Keep in mind that link and this one here were for the original edition. Biggest hang-up some folks had was some weird bass roll-off. PS Audio may (or may not) have changed that for the new version. It definitely looks intriguing. And 30-day audition period is always nice.

Well all I keep reading is favorable review after favorable review and this last review might have just hooked me. His last paragraph. Umm..... well I own DW's so there ya go!

upload_2018-11-15_13-42-57.png

I've heard the Sprout 100 a couple of times--it's surprising the amount of good sound that comes out of that small component. If you're not sure about it, order it direct from PS Audio and give it a try for 30 days. https://www.psaudio.com/sprout100/

The phono stage should be quite good (PS Audio's first-ever product was a phono stage), and the onboard DAC, via USB, takes PCM digital up to 384kHz and DSD up to 2X.