Picking a victim for my first vintage re-cap, repair. Suggestions wanted!!

Danzilla

A little background first. I have some decent experience with soldering on a amateur / hobbyist level. I've done 'build your own radio!' and other kits back in the day, and repaired a few items here and there with obvious faults like devices with electrolytic capacitors from the 90s. I own my own DMM and 'scope, in addition to a soldering station. Plus, a wild find at my local Salvation Army. An unused Hakko 808 desoldering gun kit (in it's case with everything for $10!), that I mean to break in. (I have used wick or Soldapullt in the past.)

So I shop resale and garage sales sometimes and HAVE ALREADY picked up a number of partially working pieces for not too much. I'd like to make one of them my next project, so I was looking for opinions on the best choice to start with. Best is obviously relative, but with a few main points:

A) would like to gain a little more experience before tackling any particularly tricky or valuable piece. So not necessarily the most valuable one first (though yes, none of these are heavy hitters.)
B) at the same time I don't want to really waste my time putting work / parts into a model that isn't worth it, (ie. ROI.)
C) Big plus for any piece that might have particularly well discussed / described steps for refurbishing. So it'll be easier to follow for my first effort with detailed parts lists and replacement choices being a obviously help.
D) Anything else I'm overlooking??

Finally, here are the contenders I'm considering. Mostly just cosmetically inspected and tested for output with AUX input and tuning. (ie. didn't test phono, tape, etc)
Kenwood KR-3600. Fair condition with scratches and lightly dinged corner. Works with speakers A, but use B or A&B and no output. Tuning barely works, but does pickup a few stations faintly.