Can wrong cable gauge damage an amp?

Aillo

Hello,

First of all, I am sorry if my thread isn't in the right place. I couldn't find any section about cables so I am posting my question here.

I am a musician and phd musicologist. Like most people who record music, I have a first setup in a studio where I do all the music recording, mixing, mastering and serious listening stuff. In my living room, I have a second setup, a Marantz 1070 amp connected to two Alesis M1 Passive MKII speakers. I also own two JBL Control Ones that I would like to put in the kitchen.

I don't want to use a different amplifier. So I am planning to connect those JBLs to the same amp. The cable distance will be around 20m (65f). I really don't care about the sound quality in the kitchen so I want to go for standart cables which are 2 X 0.75mm2 in my country of residence. We don't use the American wire gauge system but it is a little bit thinner than the 18 AWG. The reason I do this is the cables will go through many visible places and if I use thicker stuff, my wife may try to kill me... :) Also it is much cheaper...

So the question is: can cable resistence possibly damage an amplifier such as my Marantz 1070? Or do you see any other problem in my setup excepting the sound quality?

PS: JBLs will be connected to the 2nd (Remote) output of the amp.

Thanks in advance for all your answers,

So the question is: can cable resistence possibly damage an amplifier such as my Marantz 1070? Or do you see any other problem in my setup excepting the sound quality?
No, (slightly) higher resistance won't cause damage to the amplifier.

No, thinner cable increases resistance. Lower resistance is an issue. Higher is not.

But, you might want to consider the rated impedance of your four speakers. If you play them at the same time, the impedance (resistance) your amp sees is decreased and THAT may be an issue, ..not the thin wire..

Ok. Thx for all the super quick answers!