Integrated pm7000 inquiry

Jcbluesman

I'm searching for a integrated amplifier and I found a pm7000 for what I think is a decent price on CL. It looks mint+. I've never heard a marantz in person, being a newbie I haven't heard a bunch of amps. Right now I have a onkyo tx80 hooked up to Yamaha NS 670's and the sound is good, because of the NS 670's, for sure. I mostly spin vinyl so phono stage is most important to me, along with soundstage, definition, instrument separation and vocalization of course. I listen to mostly upright bass stuff, 50&60s, folk. Easy listening stuff, Sinatra, Day, King Cole etc... orchestrated music to. Not a whole lot of electric bass stuff or overly miked drum mixes, but some here and there, Elvis, Atkins etc....you know, No ported speakers for me. I did read a audiophile review that the mids are mushy, so that would be a concern, but who knows what speakers they were hooked up to. If anyone knows this amplifier please chime in. Thanks. I could just go over there and listen to it I suppose but I don't want to bug the guy unless I want to go in a marantz direction.

I had one and it was the worst amp I've had. The mids are a big problem, they smear and obscure detail and background information and after using it for quite awhile when I put in another amp it was significant as to how much music had been missing with the Marantz. If you search deep enough you'll find a lot of negative reviews of that model. I wish I had done that before buying.