Guest137

Quick questions: Why does the radio tuner in the car parked in the driveway pick up more stations and has better signal strength than my stereo receiver which is only a few yards away? Is the antenna for the car that much better than the one paired with my stereo receiver?

Quick questions: Why does the radio tuner in the car parked in the driveway pick up more stations and has better signal strength than my stereo receiver which is only a few yards away? Is the antenna for the car that much better than the one paired with my stereo receiver?

I have the same problem in my house.
Am is even worse than Fm.
I have a Sony Walkman and a Memorex MR4240 that have great reception in my house.

Last edited by a moderator:

I have a 7 foot Channel Master roof top antenna that can capture signals from 70 miles away. Get a quality antenna.

good antenna.. no question! A dipole is easy to play with hold and moving around for directional strength often mounted vertically vrs horizontally sometimes makes a difference. AM antenna is just a single wire. if very far away you get a signal booster.

My mother in law recently bought a newer home in the Orlando area here in Florida. Immediately upon entering her home you would lose cell phone reception I had a hunch what the problem was, and looked in her attic. Foil backed insulation on the inside of the roof. Who knows what is in the walls?

Now, I'm not saying this is the OP's issue. But the short answer is that @WaynerN is correct. Get a good outdoor antenna. I posted this thread in Tuners a few years ago:

https://audiokarma.org/forums/index...tance-of-an-outdoor-antenna-in-2-pics.746241/

The pictures tell the story.

For years I used an old DELCO radio pulled from a car in my house. In short, they were usually designed and built better than "indoor" tuners.